MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 12-06-2005, 06:13 PM
Registered

Best Edge Retention

I Am Just Getting Started Into Knifemaking, And I Know This Is Probably A Loaded Question. Bar Nun Hands Down What Is The Best Steel A Guy Can Make A Hunting Knife Out To Hold An Edge The Longest???
Old 12-06-2005, 08:41 PM
Skilled

Send a message via Yahoo to jdm61
I'll defer to the experts but one thing you might consider is once the edge dulls, which steels are going to be easy to resharpen. This is one of the big attractions of the plain carbon steels. i have only been making knives for 9 months, but years of collecting and using (in the field for a few years) has taught me that some of the most popular stainless steels are #### near impossible to sharpen using simple tools.....ATS 34 comes to mind. You practically need a diamond hone or a little 1 inch grinder set up to tackle that stuff. I never had mcuh luck even with crock sticks or lansky sharpeners. My brother had several Benchmade folders and he doesn't even bother. He just had them sharpened professionally.
Old 12-07-2005, 12:29 AM
Living Legend

jdm61 has kinda said it for me... There's also more to knife performance than edge retention. Toughness is a critical factor that comes to mind. The hardest, most wear resistant steels can sometimes be also relatively brittle when subjected to edge impacts and lateral stress to the blade.

One steel with extreme edge retention would be CPM S90V (previously called 420V) but as mentioned, once the edge goes dull, you're pretty much dead in the water as far as field resharpening goes. Probably pretty darn expensive too. Many European makers use this steel.