MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 01-09-2012, 04:47 PM
Registered

Newbie Asking Questions

Hello I am chan and I am completely new to this I have a couple questions so I'll just spit them out for you guys to help me out with...Thank you

1. For quenching a knife do I have to use oil? if so what kind of oil?
2. Could I just use water for qeunching a knife?
3. http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/Squ...NC9?Pid=search <---would this be usable to make a knife with? I researched and heard that carbonsteel is a great metal to make knives with but I'm not an expert and you guys are so what are your inputs on this?
4. how would I make a knife flexible and not brittle? is there a special process I need to put the knife through?
5. Do i need to dip the knife in sulfuric acid after I'm done making it to eat the metal or is that only when you use multiple metal combinations?

if you guys could answer my questions I would greatly appreciate it.
Old 01-09-2012, 06:28 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Chan,

First, welcome to our forums! We will help you in any way we can but we can only answer questions. We are not in a position to teach a complete class in knife making so you must do a lot of reading and study on your own. Then, we will be able to answer questions you may have about what you learn from reading. The Search function at the top of this page will let you search through these forums for information that has been discussed many times before. Also, there are many good books, videos, and even some websites with a lot of educational knife making information.