MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-27-2005, 12:27 AM
Enthusiast

bolsters: epoxy or solder?

I was wondering what kinds of experience people have had attaching bolsters. I'm kinda new to it, and have read posts on using adhesives like JB Weld to attach bolsters instead of soldering them, as soldering can leave gaps, etc. I will also be pinning the bolsters, regardless of method, and was wondering what people thought/preferred. Thanks for any help/info you can provide.

Neil
Old 03-27-2005, 07:09 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Don Cowles
If you pin them (see my bolster tutorial), no adhesive is needed.

Don Cowles Custom Knives

Old 03-30-2005, 11:08 PM
Enthusiast

Thanks, Don. I have three follow-up questions. When you peen the pins in the bolster, do you countersink them in the bolster material? And if so, do you have to do it after you've shaped your bolsters so that you don't grind off the wider pin end? And finally, if you wait to countersink and peen until after shaping the bolsters, do you run into issues if the pins are near the edge and you have a slope to contend with in terms of the shape of the bolster and coutersinking into that slope?

Thanks for the help and the awesome tutorial!

Neil
Old 03-31-2005, 02:14 AM
Living Legend

GDay Neil, my own preference is to file and precisely fit a guard with the minimal possible blade to guard gap. I use epoxy, although I have some JB Weld on hand to try soon. I don't solder because :-

1) I don't like the look.
2) It seems more a hassle to clean up the excess solder on the front of the guard afterwards.
3) Most importantly - I never learnt to solder !