MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Community Discussion Boards > Knife Network Community

Knife Network Community TKN is all about excellence and sharing info. Our 'other' lives are also filled with stories, events, and opinions. This forum is an opportunity to discuss outside interests, personal experience, things that make us happy and things that don't!

Old 03-11-2006, 07:27 PM
Living Legend

Any home coffee roasters out there?

I have been roasting my own coffee for three years now. I thought I would let everyone know how easy it is and how much money you can save. Up here in Washington State coffee is not a drink, it is a religion. At first I used a small electric roaster that I bought for $150 but it only roasted about 8 oz. It was also noisy and the smell was pretty intense and acrid.

Then two years ago Santa got me a stainless steel gas BBQ with an electric rotisery. That started the voices and visions in my head. I built a small 6"x6" stainless drum with a hatch and a window with a chaff screen. I made it to slide right onto the skewer and secured it with two thumb screws so it can still be used for BBQing. In about 25-30 minutes I can get two pounds of fresh roastd coffee.

Most of the green coffee beans cost around $2.50-$4.00 a Lbs.(24 lbs bags) and they have at least a two year shelf life if not roasted. Now I have the freshest and best tasting coffee and most of all I can roast it exactly the way I want it. So if you are tired of paying $8-15 a Lbs for gourmet coffee that has been sitting around for weeks possibly you should look inot home raosting. Better coffee for less money. Around here I use it as currency and trade it for almost anything I need.

Roaster pic.
http://groups.msn.com/Brentscustomkn...to&PhotoID=111

Green coffee beans and home roasting supplies source.
http://www.coffeeproject.com/