MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Factory Knife Customization & Mid-Tech Boards > Knife Kits Forum

Knife Kits Forum New to the art of knife making? Learn to make awesome knives, using advanced hands-on training inside. From KnifeKits.com.

Old 12-10-2005, 02:09 AM
Enthusiast

Send a message via MSN to jace11229 Send a message via Yahoo to jace11229
new guy, tons of ?'s, FL-001/007

Hey folks. I've never built a knife before, and I liked the idea of a beginner's kit. What I'd like to know is if they can be converted to automatic fairly easily? If not, why? If so, how? Should I upgrade the washers or anything else in any case? Finally (I think), if they shouldn't be converted, is the 001 any better or worse than the 007? The reason I ask is that the 001 has thumstuds and the tanto blade only has a thumb hole. If I can't have an auto, I'd at least like a good one hander. I think that's all. My name's Jason or Jace, and I'd really appreciate any help you can give. I'f I'm totally barking up the wrong tree, please send me in the right direction so I can ask a bunch of new questions. Thanks in advance, Jason
Old 12-10-2005, 08:50 AM
Skilled

Hi Jason, welcome to the knifkits forum! You're definately in the right place if you want to learn. There's also some new classes starting in January so check that forum out too. It's going to be taught by Don Robinson, an awesome folder builder and super nice man (sweet wife too).