MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-06-2013, 09:44 PM
Enthusiast

How do you guys heat your oil?

Hey guys, I have an idea for heating HT oil. First I a going to tell my idea and then you all can tell me if I'm out of my mind. I just don't want to do something unsafe.

Ok, from everything I've read here, HT oil needs to be 200+ degrees for a quench. How do you guys think a cheap deep fryer would work? I know peanut oil is safe, and delicious. Would "real" quench oil be safe in one and would a gallon be enough oil to do the job?

Did I have an epiphany or an idiot-piphany?

Old 10-06-2013, 09:59 PM
Steel Addict

I'm not experienced enough to give advice Dawg, you just crack me up!!

Old 10-06-2013, 10:02 PM
Hall of Famer

First of all 200? is too hot for oil if you are trying to do a regular hardening and too cool if you are trying to do marquenching or austempering, neither of which are for beginners. For those operations you may need to go over 500?. For regular quench hardening 120-140? will do fine as will the peanut oil.

A deep fryer works fine too. They're deep enough for even medium length knives and hold enough oil to absorb the heat from more than one blade in a run without getting too hot.

Doug

Old 10-06-2013, 10:08 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

200 F is too high. Most of the "amateur" oils like peanut, canola, hydraulic fluid, etc should be heated to 100 F - 125 F. The pro oils work best at 150 F (the ones I've used anyway). And, they really mean that...not 'about' 150 but actually 150 F. They will work lower or higher but they work better at 150F