MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-14-2012, 08:03 AM
Master

An example of why testing is a good idea.

Recently I picked up some steels I've never used before, from a supplier I've never used before. After getting the heat treat info, I started some testing on them. Unfortunately I wasn't planning on posting the testing online so I didn't take pics of each step.

I did some tests with oil hardening it, air hardening, and water hardening. I had the literature on what the heat treat schedule should be, but I like to play around and try different things.

Well after doing various non destructive tests (rope cutting, wood carving, pounding the blade into wood and torquing it out sideways, etc) I started with destructive...hammering it through brass rods, followed by iron wire, followed by half hard steel.

The oil and water hardened blades performed as well as expected.

Next I clamped the blades in the vice and bent them. These blades were fairly narrow, with steep grinds, through hardened, and short blades...so they didn't fair as well as they would have if they were a bit wider, with shallower angles, differential hardening, and a longer blade to distribute the force across.

The water hardened blade bent to about 50ish degrees and snapped.

Now from this test I learned the water quench was too severe...that at least 1 microcrack had formed. I had sharpened the blades and polished it several times when testing and examined it under a magnifying glass and I could not spot the crack until it snapped.