MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 11-18-2007, 01:26 PM
Steel Addict

just starting

I'm another rookie getting ready to start a project. It's taken awhile to find a blade shape that I want, it happens to be damascus twist 1095/15N20 steel.
The knife is a small caper. The blade is 2 3/4" and the handle is 3". I don't really know much about damascus it just happen to be the blade style I was looking for.
The handle material will be buffalo scale. As a newbie I'm not sure if I should try to attach a bolster to the knife or not, it is not drilled for one. If I attach a bolster it would probably be brushed stainless. All of my work will be done by hand and dremal tool as I'm not set up for a shop. This would be a small fixed blade that I would carry for every day use. I love the small knives that don cowles makes. The knife I carry most of the time is a Buck Alpha folder and the blade is to large for general purpose knife for me.
I would like a few opinions, thanks for your help. John
Old 11-18-2007, 01:46 PM
Skilled

The only thing for me is that I have not had good luck with buffalo scales. They tend to move a lot. But, go for it and you will like it when it is done...
Old 11-18-2007, 02:46 PM
Skilled

John,

The first thing you need to know as a "Newby" is that your name is already taken within the knife universe. There is a John M. Smith, a John W. Smith, and a J. D. Smith. It's my understanding that they claim to be triplets. Perhaps you could go by Jack or your middle name. Life's confusing enough as it is!