MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-14-2014, 10:45 AM

Talking Step by Step on how to make my first knife?

Can anyone who is far more experienced than anyone I have access to talk to, help me out on this one? I'm new to this and I usually try to figure things out myself, but I guess a little help is needed sometimes! Thanks to all who can contribute!
Old 07-14-2014, 11:07 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

I'm working on a video for exactly that purpose but it won't be done soon enough to be of much use to you. The short answer is there are many, many ways to make that first knife and which one you choose depends on your background, your location, the kind of tools you have access to, etc. In other words, no one can simply throw out an answer to that question and expect the answer to be a perfect fit for you.

I suggest you start as I did 20 years ago. Gather all the information you can, what worked best for me was catalogs from the knife supply houses. Get a copy of Blade magazine or Knives Illustrated from your mall cutlery store or gun range or big mall book store. Use the ads in the magazines to find the knife supply houses and then get their catalogs. The catalogs have everything that knife makers use - materials, tools, supplies of all types, and its all laid out right there in front of you. Much easier to compare prices and see alternative ways of doing things by looking at the catalogs than trying to do the same thing with websites. Catalogs also have basic instructions on knife assembly.