MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-04-2018, 10:45 PM

“Bear” style knife hilt

I am new to knife making; so bear with me. On the loveless bear style knife the front bolster is like a hilt. I cannot figure out how this is done on a full tang knife. With the bolster that only goes one way, they would make a slot. These “hilts” look so seamless I just can’t figure it out. Is there a thread that explains it? Or a book I could purchase? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 09-05-2018, 08:55 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

I don't actually 'know' what construction method Loveless used on his Big Bear knife but from looking at it I can guess. The first guard simply has a hole in it and slips over the handle. In Bob's case, this would be a near perfectly fitted slot that probably had to be tapped into position. To hold it Bob soldered his guards, if you look closely at the pictures of his knives you can see the fillet of solder. Soldering guards is getting to be a rare skill these days. The sub-hilt is probably just slotted and pinned to the tang with the joints again blended with solder......

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 09-05-2018, 07:16 PM
Steel Addict

On the big bear and several in this style the guard slips on over the blade. He left small lugs on the handle to act as a stop. I can't verify the top but on the bottom he would filed a radias to match I believe a 5/32 end mill which he used to cut out the guard.
In his book you can plainly see the handle is larger than the blade depth.
Old 09-05-2018, 11:32 PM
Skilled

this will answer your questions.

https://www.ebay.com/i/253348346325?chn=ps