MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Display Case

The Display Case A place to post your latest knives and creations. Let the Knife Network community see your work first!

Old 07-31-2014, 03:39 AM

First knives in years!

After a long hiatus (explained in more detail in Custom Projects), I am back in the shop.
Here are some bad pictures of what I finished tonight.

The first is a push dagger similar to one I made which was, at one time, owned by Jim Cooper. This is only the second of its type, though thinner than the original which was 3/8". This one is 1/4". It is ATS-34, 58RC, stabilized Chittam burl, and N/S pins.

The second one here is Bertie Rietveld Dragon Skin Damascus that I've been sitting on since early 2008 or late 2007. I called my friend and ABS Mastersmith Steve Culver for advise on finishing the steel with bold color, but we wound up liking a mirror finish after a deep FC etch. Some may think treating Bertie's creation in such a way as a sacrilege, but hey..., I find beauty and elegance in simplicity and I only make knives which are meant to be used. The handle is stabilized ancient Kauri. I've long been a fan of this wood which ranks among the rarest and most unique wood on Earth. This piece was from the very first batch I had imported years ago. I was very lucky to get the grain to match up with the lines of the blade. Pins ar N/S. Some hard to acquire materials here. Happy to entertain offers.

www.kansasknives.org

"Drawing your knife from its sheath and using it in the presence of others should be an event complete with oos, ahhs, and questions."

Last edited by Andrew Garrett; 07-31-2014 at 03:43 AM.
Old 07-31-2014, 06:46 AM
Skilled

Looking good there Andy , enjoy being in the shop again.

Dwane

Old 07-31-2014, 10:00 AM
Hall of Famer

Welcome back, Andrew!