MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Knife Organizations and Club Boards > Georgia Knifemaker's Guild

Georgia Knifemaker's Guild The Georgia Knifemaker's Guild. Furthering and fostering the passion of knives, knifemaking, and related interests

Old 12-18-2004, 01:42 PM

new need some help

Hi i am new to knifemaking and needed your guys help on how to get started out. I planned on doing the stock removal method for the blades but had a couple of questions. First is what should i buy to shape the knives with. Can i do it with a hacksaw and files or is there an easier way? Also since i'm a beginner what type of steel would be best to use and where can i purchase it from.
Thanks for any info
Old 12-18-2004, 09:21 PM

Location: Blairsville--in the beautiful Appalachian mountains of North Georgia.
Zack, the information you are requesting can be found in numbers of books and tutorials on the subject. Before you invest in grinding equipment and planning how to heat treat blades you have yet to fashion, you should ask yourself several questions: (1) Am I creative with my hands? (2) Am I planning on augmenting my income with an unknown, undeveloped skill? (3) Am I able to market myself as well as a yet to be conceived product? (4) Am I interested enough to spend time to read how-to books and tutorials? (5) Am I willing to accept the fact that I would be competing with people that live and breath the fashioning of exquisite knives---and it is usually a part time avocation? If you can answer these in the affirmative, pounce on your keyboard and instigate a search for what you want. It is there, my friend, for the asking if you are willing to expend a little time and effort. If you are not willing to proceed in that direction, you should abandon the idea!

Old 12-18-2004, 10:13 PM
Steel Addict