MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 01-04-2014, 08:35 PM
Enthusiast

Impatient newbie wants to order steel.

Ok. Was going to go the prefinished blade route and couldn't take the easy route. Just not in my nature. I want to order some flat bar, too many steels out there, and hate continous reading on computer. Wanting a hunter / skinner type knife. For a newbie, what steel would you suggest?
(It's like the Honda commercial with everyone saying, I wanna ride... Well, I wanna work at my bench! LOL.)
Old 01-04-2014, 08:53 PM
Steel Addict

Being a fellow beginner I wondered the same thing and found 1085 or 1080 to be the most user friendly so far. If you are going to be sending them out for heat treatment then 440c which is a stainless would be another quality one to check into. Just my two cents welcome to the hobby.
Old 01-04-2014, 08:54 PM
Skilled

You didn't say what your skill level was or what you will use to heat treat. Not all steels are equal. Some are hard to heat treat, others a newb (and experienced alike) should touch unless the blades are sent to a heat treater. Are you forging? Stock removal? All will have bearing on your steel choices.
Take your time, make your first shot count.
Old 01-04-2014, 08:56 PM
Enthusiast

I plan to try my own heat treating. And see how it goes...
Didn't know till yesterday u could send out for heat treating. Do u know what that costs?
Trying to keep costs low.
Old 01-04-2014, 09:01 PM
Skilled

Get some 1084, it's a great newbie steel.
Old 01-04-2014, 09:07 PM
Skilled