MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 02-11-2002, 10:50 AM
TexasHoppy

Grizzly Sander

I am just starting to learn to make knives and I am looking at the Grizzly 2x72 grinder.
Is it worth having?
I know I need a 2x72 and the Grizzly is the right price for now.
If this works out, making knives, I will move up to the high dollar models.
Right now I have a $100 Sears 2x 42 sander.

Thanks for the help,

Larry Reese
Kenney, TX
Old 02-11-2002, 11:19 AM
Don Halter

I've been using a Grizzly for about 5 yrs now. It was given to me as a present, so price and such had no bearing on my getting the grinder. I have noticed some things over the years.

Grizzly has a problem with quality control. Some of the parts had to be worke d a bit to get them to fit (ie...the shaft with the upper wheel was to large to slide into the lower base).
The rubber coated wheel was not uniform. It's slightly convex and has a few blisters. I don't know that it was intended to be a contact wheel, but I've used it as one. Having a non-flat surface makes hollow grinding a pain!

The tracking is difficult to line up, and often has to be re-adjusted (more-so than usual). The lock down screws never seem to lock things down.

If you're going to do hollow grinding, the motor housing gets in the way.

It's heavy and difficult to move. I've moved shops four times in the last two years and re-organized beyond that. I guess if you don't move it around this isn't a factor.

Now, the good points:
It's affordable.
It's a strong running motor. I plan on building a new grinder set-up and using this motor.
Old 02-11-2002, 11:29 AM
pupandcat

Grizzly Sander tracking question.