MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 12-28-2015, 08:15 AM
Enthusiast

What SFPM for Belt on Grinder

I have done much reading and searching here regarding SFPM of belt on belt grinders and realize it has been discussed, but I couldn't find a "happy medium" belt speed mentioned.

I am a newbie to knife making and I'm in the process of gathering equipment and will be getting a belt grinder.
My money is limited and don't really want to get into brand or size discussions, but I do need some info on belt speed for grinding flat bevels which will also help me make a good decision on what belt grinder to consider (price WILL be a factor). My belt grinder will have at least 1/2 HP motor with 2" wide belt.
I don't have time right now to make my own belt grinder, but I am building my own kiln.

It seems there are various opinions on belt SFPM speed.
Question:
What would be a good "happy medium" compromise regarding SFPM belt speed?

I realize there are ways to control/change speeds such as step pulleys, variable speed motors/#######, etc.
Some people seem to like very fast speeds of 5000-7000 SFPM and some people like somewhat slower speeds in the range of 3500-4500 SFPM. Even though the high speeds of 5000-7000 SFPM can remove material faster, is it really necessary? I would also think that the very fast speed machines enable a person to make a mistake easier if not very careful.

I will be doing the majority of my grinding on annealed carbon steel blades and only very minor grinding after heat treatment......if any, other than some hand finish sanding and sharpening.