MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 12-15-2005, 09:07 PM
Steel Addict

Kydex Adhesive?

I've read alot about molding Kydex sheaths. I have my Kydex, heat gun, etc. ready to make my first sheath.

No where have I read anything about useing an adhesive between two layers of Kydex along the edge/s that get rivited.

What adhesive, if any, is used? Do the edges melt together?

Yeah, they're novice questions.

Guns, Big Knives, Outdoors www.ramanon.com
Old 12-15-2005, 09:23 PM
Steel Addict

I have been making kydex sheaths and holsters for about two years now and no I never use any adhesive in mine. The rivets do the job. One of the key things to remember is to leave the sheath in the mold until it is plenty cool. This will keep the edges together and give you a nice outline on the item in the sheath. I have not seen it but I bet the DVD on Kydex sheath making that is on KnifeKits.com would be well worth the $$. I would proudly not have wasted as much Kydex when I first started making items.

Jimbo
Old 12-15-2005, 10:01 PM
Living Legend

Steve, if you want to go the adhesive route, try some PVC pipe "adhesive". It's actually a nicely toxic solvent (tetrahydrofuran, THF) with PVC dissolved in it, that basically dissolves the target plastic a little bit and more welds it together than anything. (Same principle as model glue.) Kydex is a copolymer of acrylic and vinyl cholride, so it might work. Not a large investment if it doesn't.

That said, I've never seen a Kydex sheath "glued". Having some airholes to breathe will allow it to get rid of moisture.
Old 12-16-2005, 12:46 AM
Super Moderator

This is quoted directly from www.kydex.com: