MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 02-06-2005, 01:01 PM

Variable speed help/ convert single speed BIII

Hi all,

I'm looking for some of your expert advice! I have a 115v, 1.5 HP Bader III (Leeson motor) and would like to convert it to variable speed in the most economical, efficient way possible. I am not an electrician, but can handle the basics.

Mike Hull was kind enough to give me advice on another forum, and I'll happily take all the help I can get. Thanks in advance

Bill
Old 02-06-2005, 01:05 PM
Skilled

Send a message via MSN to chrisinbeav Send a message via Yahoo to chrisinbeav
Well, probably the cheapest way would be to get a set of pullies. If you want more versatility you'll need to step up to a controler of some kind.

Chris Nilluka
Old 02-06-2005, 02:28 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

I agree with Chris, pulleys if you are staying with that motor. Otherwise, you'll need a motor and controller that was made for variable speed. There is a thread somewhere on VFD motors and controllers that looked very good to me, priced about $400. They also seem to do an excellent job of maintaining torque at low rpm's which is a problem in some variable speed systems. Or, Leeson makes the DC motor and controller which is usually in the $600 range.

There are others, like tread mill motors that you might consider if you were building from scratch but they wouldn't seem to be a good choice with a Bader although I guess they could be made to work with about the same effort as a pulley system.

The popular little router controls will come to your attention sooner or later but they can't handle your horsepower ........

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!