MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 02-17-2016, 07:39 PM

Insurance

I have been building knives for 3 years, all of my knives are owned by my family and 2 friends. I haven't charged for any of them yet, but I would like to start charging. I would like to sell a few knives to help fund new equipment, and materials for more knives. I haven't sold a knife yet because I don't want someone suing me. I know that you can be sued for anything now days. I only do this as a hobby, and so far have made 10 knives in the last year. So making a dozen knives , insurance is kinda hard to justify. So if I can make and sell 12 knives a year, at a cost of $100.00 or less what would you do if you were me??? Thank you guys.
Old 02-19-2016, 07:09 AM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
If your talking about liability insurance, based on my experiences, there are basically two scenarios...

1. Most insurance companies will simply flat refuse to insure you the moment you mention "knives".

2. If you can find a company that is willing to insure you, it will be astronomically expensive.

Most folks who make and sell knives don't have liability insurance, for one or both of the reasons above. Is there risk? Sure. But only YOU can determine whether the risk is an acceptable one.