MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fit & Finish

Fit & Finish Fit and Finish = the difference in "good art" and "fine art." Join in, as we discuss the fine art of finish and embellishment.

Old 01-11-2015, 07:06 PM

Fillet Knife Stropping Question

I hope this is the right forum...............
I'm a noob here......been reading lots of good info.
First off, I am not a knife maker or a blade guru. Y'all make me quite jealous with your creations. One day I'll get there!
But here is my sharpening question.
I have sharpened plenty of knives. From dull as a butter knife to razor sharp. I even tinker in leather work and have to strop plenty of my tools that I can bring back to razor sharp in a matter of a few strokes.
I just wanted to make clear that I do have experience in sharpening, but will admit that I am definitely no expert.
But recently I have been stumped with my attempts to sharpening a fillet knife. This is an F Dick's 6" curved blade fillet knife and the only marking that I can read for metal content states "High Carbon - no stain"
My friend let me have it to sharpen for him and every time I take it to the strop, I swear I am dulling the blade.
I have taken this blade from a coarse stone, to a medium stone, to a fine stone, to an Arkansas translucent stone that shaves hair when I am complete.
But, as soon as I run it over the strop about 15 times, the blade won't even catch a fingernail. After the first time, I figured I screwed up and repeated the process......again same thing. So I repeated the steps above three more times and all with the same results.
I even took another fixed blade knife and put an edge on it after stropping just to make sure I wasn't doing anything weird.
So what the heck is going on?? And by the way, this is my first fillet knife to strop.