MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-11-2015, 09:56 AM
Skilled

New member from WNC

Hi all. New member here though I've lurked a time or two. I'm also a newb at knifemaking, something I've wanted to try for 25 years or so.
My goal is to make knives that are purely functional, ergonomically confortable with an esthetically pleasing profile. Additionally beauty would come from nice wood scales. I truly want functionality with a focus on outdoors, hunting, camping, bushcraft, so it is highly unlikely I'll ever make a "Rambo" or Bowie style.

So I bought some 440C and started. It was after making the profiles and grinding that I realized some of the difficulties of heat treating this stainless. Though I do have a kiln aka burnout oven I use for jewelry making, with the temperatures, stainless foil, etc, I'll send them out. I have made a few initial prototypes in 1095 carbon and heat treated and seem to have had reasonable success.
I'll post a few photos when I've met the required time/post count.
I do have a few newb questions I'll post in different threads.

Just saying "Hello" and look forward to learning more as I grow in skills and knowledge of knife making!
Old 12-11-2015, 10:40 AM
Skilled

Welcome, sounds like you are well under way. I'll just whisper this before you get hit over the head with it...(whisper) "1084"

Use an inexpensive, simple steel, and save yourself alot of things, time, money headache etc...

Post pics of your knives and progress here we love to see them.

Ricky
Old 12-11-2015, 10:41 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Welcome to the forum, WNC! We look forward to seeing what you have done so far ...