MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 08-30-2008, 01:27 PM
Registered

Heat treating 5160

I am new to this passion. I am reading and trying to understand the artice on Mr. Caffrey's site about heat treating a 5160 blade. My questions are two fold.
1. when normalizing, annealing or hardening, Once the steel has reached critical and is no longer magnetic, is there any advantage or downside in keeping it at this temperature for an extended period of time?
2. When heat treating, It apppears to me that Mr. Caffrey recommends hardening the edge only. Am i undertanding correctly that only the edge (1/2 the blade width) needs to be brought to non magnetic then quenched? If so wouldn't the rest of the blade remain in an annealed state and therefore remain soft and unable to spring back in place when bent?
I would have thought that the whole blade would need to be brought past non magnetic then the edge quenched then the remainder of the blade cooled in the quenching oil.
Would appreciate a comment
thank you
Old 08-30-2008, 10:58 PM
Skilled

Cool I believe ED,,