MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 02-02-2005, 02:08 AM
Enthusiast

CRUWEAR temper?

i am almost ready to heat and temper but this is my first time to use cruwear. i have heard it should have double or triple temper and to what RC should it be? i also plan to send it off for cyogenic temper any thoughts on this? i thought this would be the best place to get a good solid and informed answer. im going for edge holding ability first and toughness second. i plan to keep this one for myself and it will probly see some rough treatment. my day job is electrical contracting i have yet to find a production knife that keeps a good edge very long when stripping 500 MCM copper wire(among other things).
Old 02-02-2005, 10:13 AM
Steel Addict

Send a message via ICQ to RJ Martin
Sleepy: Cru-wear is a good choice for your application!!!
There is a "sticky" that allows you to see all of Crucible Steel's data sheets-it's the first post in this forum. I checked the sheets-I'd recommend Austenitizing @ 1950F, a 30 minute soak at this temp, cryo treatment then (definitely!) 3 tempers @900F for 2 hours each. This should yield 62-64 Rc. While that is a bit on the hard side, since you are stripping wire you are looking for maximum wear resistance, and, I don't think toughness will be that much of an issue for this steel at that hardness, particularly if you leave the edge at .020-.030 thickness.

You can always take the heat treated blade, put on a temporary handle and use it for a while-if it's brittle at all, you can go back and re-temper at a higher temperature to drop the hardness back a bit. My thinking is that won't be necessary.