MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 04-26-2017, 10:53 AM

Which burner/gas to use for gas forge

Hi guys,

I'm new to knifemaking and just starting out. I have already finished the first blanks which are, at least theoretically, ready for heat treating. I could send them off to a professional knife maker to let him do the heat treating but that would cost me 20 ? - 30 ? per blade. So I figured I might as well get some inspiration from YouTube and decided to build a primitive "gas forge" using gas concrete bricks I had lying around. I used the same method as shown in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qZVcQdvuyc

I also bought a burner with some mulitgas (30 % propane, 70 % butane) from the local hardware store (see pic enclosed). The thing is: I can't get the #### thing up to temperature. Even after 20 minutes of pre-heating the forge and placing thin piece of steel inside for 15 minutes I can't get it hotter than a very very dull red, which is barely noticeable.

So my question is: Is it the burner, the gas I use, or both?

Thanks in advance!

Old 04-26-2017, 12:38 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

The problem is the entire thing. That's a torch, not a burner and there is a huge difference. That little torch will never be able to heat up much brick and until the brick is hot the steel won't get hot.

A better approach is to build your own simple burner, build a simple forge body using Kaowool or some similar product, and feed the whole thing with propane. Propane comes in larger 20 lbs bottles of the type you usually find on BBQ pits. I know you are in Germany but I'm hoping you have propane bottles and BBQ pits over there.