MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 01-21-2016, 09:42 AM
Enthusiast

Question Ht procedure questions

I have been doing much research here and elsewhere to educate myself on heat treating procedures of various high carbon steels for knife blades.
I am not new to technical data in general but I am new to knife making. My background is technical and electro/mech in nature with much experience in many different things in my 60 years of life.
I do NOT have any experience with doing any actual heat treating of high carbon steels although my brother in law and nephew had a large heat treat business for years and I did pick up some BASIC knowledge.

I am not only gathering info but also equipment and am currently building my own electric kiln. I have been known to be a rather "exacting" person and I always strive for excellence no matter what I'm doing/making. Sometimes this can cause me to be somewhat overly concerned regarding details that may not be super important, but none the less this is my nature. I believe in doing things right the first time if at all possible. I realize I will make some mistakes and will learn from them, but I am attempting to keep my mistakes at a minimum and gain some knowledge first from people who already know the answers and methods that work for them regarding heat treating and other knife making techniques. Not everyone's methods and techniques are the same but work for them.....I am keeping this in mind while gathering info.