MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 02-04-2006, 02:47 AM
Steel Addict

Question forging railroad track

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm new to the forging/blacksmithing scene.

I've read on the forum that railroad track spikes can be made into various items like knives but they have a low carbon content.
Ive done a search for "railroad track" and havent found any discussion on it.
Is the track itself suitable for forging into items such as knives?
I did a google search of track composition and this is what I've found:

"Standard steel rail has composition 0.72-0.82%C, 0.8-1.1%Mn, 0.1-0.6%Si or more variable manganese if Ni, Cr, Mo and V are added. Frogs and crossing diamonds are cast from austenitic manganese steel (minimum 12%Mn, maximum 0.07%P) for hard surface and tough body."

From what I've read on here the carbon content in the rail is in the right ballpark for a decent knife but I'm not sure if anything else in the mix would make it unsuitable.

If the track isn't suitable for knives , are there some other handy things that can be made from it besides a small anvil?

Tek
Old 02-23-2006, 04:52 PM
Steel Addict

Almost 100 views in 3 weeks and no replys?
Did I post in the wrong section? Is this question beneath the metalogical wizards?
Tek
Old 02-26-2006, 03:55 PM
Steel Addict

It is a bummer when no one answers