MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 10-29-2004, 01:10 AM
Enthusiast

Send a message via Yahoo to Herbey De Hoyos
Unhappy heat treating question

Ok maybe somebody can answer this one for me. Im fairly new at knife making and just started to try to heat treat my own blades.The problem is that after i remove the scale off of my blades there is a random pattern that stays on my blade kind of looks like water spots when you dont dry off your car after you washed it but some of them are slightly higher than the rest of the surface. Is this due to mabye heating the blade a little to much before the quench or is it because my quench oil is too cold at time of quenching, or mabye some other reason? Either way if some one could help me figure this out it will be greatly appriciated. thank you in advance.

Old 10-29-2004, 07:23 AM
Steel Addict

Send a message via ICQ to RJ Martin
Herbey: We will be glad to help if we can. Please let us know:
The type of steel?
Heat treating in a forge, kiln or other method?
Is the blade protected in foil?
If we have all the details, it makes troubleshooting a lot easier.

Almost 30 years ago, I heat treated some blades in my dad's charcoal barbecue. Everywhere a briquett touched the blade, a raised spot was produced. That was extra carbon (and other junk!) being absorbed into the steel.

RJ Martin
Knifemaker
www.rjmartinknives.com
Old 10-29-2004, 12:55 PM
Enthusiast

RJ , I think this is what happend to mine , you see I buit a brake drum forge but dont have any coal so i thought i could use charcoal. The steel is 1018. is there any way that i can protect the blade or should i just go out and buy some coal .