MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 04-11-2008, 01:41 PM
Skilled

Titanium q's??

It seems most folder makers use TI for liners and such.i'd like to venture into using some and am after between .070 - .090. i have a good handle on some but dont know what i should look for as far as condition goes.i see some places have it listed as "knifemaker grade" ,"standard grade". what should i be looking at here?is some TI pitted and just no good? the stuff i can get is 6al4v .090" thick.
Old 04-11-2008, 03:07 PM
Enthusiast

I am a noob folder maker myself and no expert, but I recently had the opportunity to take folder classes from Ed Caffrey and asked the same question. Ed mentioned that commercial grade and medical grade Ti is "too soft" for folders.

The 6-4 Ti is what you want in thicknesses from .040 to .060 depending on the size of the knife (.090 sounds thick for liners). He also recommended Alpha Knife Supply as a great source and if I recall right; I believe the AKS knifemaker grade is perfectly flat (which will save you a ton of headaches).

I am sure there are many other great sources and types of Ti you can use as well.

Hope this helps.

-Pete Parsons
Old 04-11-2008, 03:23 PM
Guru

When you start getting into .060 and higher, you'll have to start relieving the lock. .090 will work fine for a framelock, I have one in my pocket that's .100 and it's not bad at all, just need to relieve it. 6AL-4V is what you want. Chuck Bybee is who lists ti as "knifemaker grade" etc. If you buy from him, you'll be in good shape.

I'm no expert folder maker, but I'm on No. 2 and I spend quite a bit of time with several folder makers. Alan Folts on here being one of them and the guy who's teaching me about it.