MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 02-28-2012, 05:24 AM
Enthusiast

Hollow grind problems

Hi to all.
I'm just getting into this craft, and have just finished my third knife, a parer (I'm a chef, and only really have interest in kitchen cutlery) The problem is that my grinder is very small, due to a limited budget, and all the decent hollow grinds I've seen are made on big wheels as far as I can see.
My question is, is there a way to hollow grind with this little wheel, or will they be too concave? Would I be better off with a flat grind, which is tricky for a noob like me?

With a bit of jiggery pokery I can adjust the angle to work for me, but before I start getting frustrated, it would be great to have some advice on this.
Cheers
Ollie

Old 02-28-2012, 06:25 AM
Steel Addict

Ollie,
First let me welcome you to the world of knifemaking. The grinder that you show would be more suited to flat grinding your knives as it is a drive wheel and does not have any rubber cushion present. This covering is needed to produce the finish and consistency you are after. It may be possible to have it covered and balanced. Hope this helps

[IMG]Click for information...[/IMG]
http://bradjohnsonknives.blademakers.com/
Old 02-28-2012, 06:47 AM
Guru

Brad is right on about your grinder but most kitchen cutlery is flat ground and you will get the hang of it with practice.