MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-01-2017, 08:54 PM

May have been covered but I cant find a reference

Hey guy,
Im not a newbie....I'm a NEWBIE-newbie.
I became medically disabled in 2014, but my love for all things edged has led me to retrofitting one of our sheds into a workshop so that i can teach myself bladesmithing. My current project is for a friend that helps me and my family out as much as he can. He had a broken Huskey 15/16 wrench (chrome vanadium) that he wanted reworked into a knife. I'm almost finished, but I have hit the proverbial brick wall.... the heat treat and quench. It's not the prettiest thing, but it is something of a long handled (with finger ring) slightly recurved razor.
I have scoured the s#!nternet for about a week and still have no direction, let alone answers.

So:
1) straight heat treat or differential?
2) what temps? (Using a 2 burner Devil Forge...oval, 6"x4"x16" with a removable fire brick to close off one end, and kaowool coated in refractory cement)
3) best medium (and temp) for the quenchant?

The rest I have figured out. Any/all help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
Old 03-02-2017, 12:07 AM
Hall of Famer

Not all that much to go on. I know that you said that it is a chrome/vanadium alloy but we don't know the percentages or how much carbon it has in it so it's still pretty much mystery metal. Depending on how much chromium the alloy has in it it could be oil quenching or air quenching.