MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 02-13-2003, 03:43 PM
Steel Addict

help me clear this up...

im new to leather sheath making, have some questions.

1.) what type of leather is generally used to make sheaths/holsters? the ones im thinking of are form fitted to the knives...some of them almost look like rawhide? ive heard some use "half tanned" leather?

2.) what is "hand boned"? does it mean formed?

3.) any good online tutorials covering leather sheath making?

thanks

Last edited by SkaerE; 02-13-2003 at 03:47 PM.
Old 02-13-2003, 09:52 PM
Super Moderator

Question 1: Use vegtan cowhide in 6/7oz to 8/9oz weight depending on the size of your knife.
I just found a new/good source for leather including: deerskin, elk, moose, vegtan cow (real nice double shoulders), rawhide, and even buffalo. They have beads and bones and such as well.
Check with Dan at Colorado Leather Goods 1-719-633-8722.
Great people to work with and great prices. If you have a business ####### they'll sell wholesale.

Question 2: Yes. To see one example see my Wild Rose EDC sheath in the Sheath Gallery

Question #3: I have written three tutorials on CKD regarding sheath making/leatherworking: (the titles are links that open in a new page so just click on them)

#1 - WRTC Mexican Loop Sheath Tutorial
This shows specifically how to make the Mexican Loop style but you can use the basic skills to make any type.

#2 - WRTC Stitch Pony Tutorial Read tutorial #3 and you'll see what this is for.

#3 - WRTC Sewing Tutorial
Below is an addendum sort of to #3 Tutorial. It should clarify some questions you might have.