MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 10-01-2001, 02:08 PM
Slicer

How much to charge

How do I figure out how much to charge for a custom knife? I'm just a beginner but I have someone interested in a custom knife already. Would I figure out how much materials were plus my time and expenses?
Old 10-01-2001, 07:28 PM
Geno

Yes.

I wish I could leave it there, but that is not the whole story.
Pricing is one of the hardest things about selling them.
How does one put a spicific value on the worth of something, esspecially when it is one of a kind.
Time is a depressing way to figure the worth of a piece.
Materials are often used to just jack up the price, but not necessarily the worth. Sometimes the materials are worth more than the knife.(sad but true)
A good fit up should be worth more than "what is" fit up.
The reputation of the maker has a lot to do with the price, but then again not necessarily the value.The long term value will definately be affected by the reputation of the maker.
(RESALE VALUE IS ABOUT 90% REPUTATION)
The value is not always governed by price either.
The price has to be set by the owner, the value is up to the potential buyer.
When the buyer AND the seller are both happy, that is called a bargain.
My best secret to pricing my knives, I ask myself what would " I " be willing to pay for the product.
That usaully brings the price back down from estimations on materials and time alone.
I like bargains, so I try to pass them along with the VALUE of my product vs. the price of my products.That brings me repeat business.(the gravy part)
Some makers sit with the same blades on thier tables, with the same prices, year after year.