MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-10-2012, 06:37 PM

Question what steel to use.

Hi Guys. As noted earlier I'm a very new newbie. Trying to get tools together. I need a anvil. I have a small one made from railroad rail But I need a larger one for heating and beating. After pricing some and getting my heart rate back to normal,I decided that a a rectangular piece of heavy barstock steel might suffice. Problem is,what steel to use. I would appreciate any info that you more experinced might have. Thanx Troglodyte.
Old 12-10-2012, 07:50 PM
Hall of Famer

Unless you want to beat on 1/4" thick stock, beat on round rod, or make large bowies, you can start out simply with a railroad rail. Yes, generally you want a flat impact surface and lots of mass under the hammer. But, if you are willing to forge out small knives you can use the railroad rail and with a few heats and a number of light taps, you can forge a blade.

I forged both of these on a railroad rail, with a hammer that's under 2 pounds. The lower one with the walnut handle has butchered 2 deer since I made it, and still doesn't need sharpening. They are both 1080 steel from Kelly Cupples, and started out as 1 inch by 1/8 inch bar. They both have handles that are about 4.5 inches with about a 4 inch blade.

Old 12-10-2012, 10:23 PM
Hall of Famer