MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 04-09-2012, 04:19 PM

Does everything need to be hardened and tempered

Hey! Raw newbie here...been learning as much as I can...and have a couple of questions I haven't found answers to...

Sticking to stock removal method for now...

I just started cutting up some "Edger blades" that I picked up at a Sears that was going out of business. Package says they are hardened and tempered steel. Can I just grind out what I want, or do I still need to put them through the "harden" and temper cycles?

Related: When grinding out a knife out of a file. I have heard that files are really hard... do I need to "harden" it again? "Normalize" it? ...then Harden? Harden but quench only the cutting edge? Or can I just "temper" it?

Any help is appreciated!
Old 04-09-2012, 05:20 PM
Skilled

You must temper the file. If you temper then grind it it without over heating, you're done. Temper at 450?, twice, at 2 hours each temper. Use a separate oven thermometer. Do not trust your oven dial. Then grind being careful to never allow any of the edge area to get hot enough to produce color. That is not real easy to do, but doable.
Old 04-09-2012, 05:49 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

First of all, welcome to the forum LoneGoose! Second, put all that salvage steel to the side until you do know what you're doing and buy yourself some good blade steel. That way, you know for sure what you have and you know how to heat treat it. Nearly all blade steel is annealed when you get it so it's as easy to grind as it will ever be. So, you grind, then heat treat, then temper.