MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-17-2018, 03:42 AM
Steel Addict

Cold working brass and a question about carbid burs

hi all

I was wondering, can I cold work smaller brass sections or do i need to heat it up?
The section size is about 0.25" x 0.25" I need to twist it and bend it a bit.

When using carbid burs, do i go with high or low rpm?
Old 09-17-2018, 04:58 AM
Guru

low-ish I use about 1000 rpm
Old 09-17-2018, 05:23 AM
Steel Addict

Thanks dtec
Old 09-17-2018, 10:10 AM
Guru

Do you mean a .25 thick square bar?

When you say it's .25x.25 section size I presume you mean a square bar? I am an expert on cold working various alloys of brass. First take a small section using either a tight fitting wrench or locking pliers and twist it, if it doesn't crack you are good to go, it isn't half hard brass.

Now that said, if it does crack or break I presume you have a method to heat it. A gas stove is actually sufficient to bend this alloy. Heat the whole section you want to work until a piece of pine wood smokes and turns black when rubbed against it. Let cool, you have temporarily softened it and you have 3 to 4 hours to work it before it goes hard again. Hope this helps you Rasmus.

By the way this also works for aluminum extrusions that crack when bent. What Dave said about the bur on brass, also it helps to smear a small amount of oil on the brass to keep from galling your bur.
Old 09-17-2018, 01:58 PM
Steel Addict

Amazing description jimmontg!
It is square stock.
Thank you very much, that sound simple enough to start with. Lets see if i can find a way to make it difficult for me anyway 😉
Old 09-17-2018, 08:21 PM
Skilled