MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-17-2018, 10:21 AM
Registered

Dumb beginner question about beveling

Hello knife makers!

I am an extreme beginner and I’m in the middle of making my first knife. I have a very basic (and I’m sure very stupid) question. When grinding the bevels before heat treat how much of an edge should you bring them to? I ground till the edge was very thin and basically sharpened. Will this edge be damaged or deformed during heat treat? Should I dull or sand it down to make it less fine? Sorry for the stupid question.
Old 08-17-2018, 12:26 PM
Steel Addict

That most certainly is NOT a stupid question. It is extremely valid and a question that every maker needs an answer to. This is also a question where you will get differing opinions. I'll try to steer you the best I can.

The thickness of the edge PRIOR to heat treating really depends on the steel itself. If we are talking carbon steels like 1084, 1095, O1 and such, the THINNEST edge for an oil quench is 0.020" thick. That is really the thinnest you can get an edge before it will "bacon" warp. Like an "s" curve! Ask me how I know! But I do NOT recommend going that thin prior to HT. To prevent edge warps, take it down to 0.030" for a safer minimum. 0.040" is even better and safer. A dime is about 0.050" thick, a good reference and a good edge thickness, too. You will have a little more to grind off after heat treating, but that's just part of the process.