MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------
New Posts | New PhotosAll Photos



Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Knife Network : Support & Services > Feature & Member Support

Feature & Member Support Questions about how to use the features on the Knife Network web site? Problems logging in? Post them in here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2005, 04:29 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Question Still can't attach images

:confused: I finally changed my browser to IE, and the pop-up blocker blocked the "manage attachments" button.

Changed popup blocker settings and then the new post or reply "manage attachments" button works, but I tried several times to upload photos under 50kb without success. The error message in the window says they exceed the limit of 100kb.

I tried this everal times but whatever photo (.JPG) I upload says it exceeds the limit.

Mozilla Firefox browser blocks the whole "manage attachments" option on the reply or new post window.

Is this simply a problem on my end or a glitch in your update?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2005, 07:49 PM
fitzo fitzo is offline
Living Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,926
Test attachment

I'll try and attach a 42kb foto:
dimensions are about 410x430

Last edited by fitzo; 05-08-2006 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:00 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Unhappy

Don, you can do it.

This Don can't for some unknown reason, since the software update. I'm connected with Firefox browser now, and can't attach smilies either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:08 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Question

Now I'm connected with IE.

I'm going to try to post a picture again. Vamos a ver.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 60dpi.2.psd.jpg (48.8 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:13 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
It worked but it's just a thumbnail. It used to load the whole picture.

The problem was that I saved the photos as Adobe Photoshop .psd files instead of converting to .jpg.

Now, is there a way to upload the full size photo into the thread?

Notice that I did attach a smileie this time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:15 PM
KNAdmin's Avatar
KNAdmin KNAdmin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 2,124
The thumbnail is a preview created by the software on upload. It helps speed up the thread for people on a slow connection. Click the thumb for the full sized view.

Alex


__________________
Alex Whetsell

[======]~~~~~~~>

Atlantavirtual.com
Atlanta NOC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:29 PM
fitzo fitzo is offline
Living Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,926
Glad to see it works for you now, Don!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:38 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNAdmin
The thumbnail is a preview created by the software on upload. It helps speed up the thread for people on a slow connection. Click the thumb for the full sized view.

Alex

OK, Alex. I did upload two pictures just now to the sheath making forum. Post is titled " Two new sheaths from Sandy"

Thanks everybody. Turns out it was my fault due to not saving the photos as .jpg, but there still may be a glitch for Mozilla browsers, which I prefer to use. :confused:

So,,,, Alex, ready to go?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:40 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzo
Glad to see it works for you now, Don!

Fitz,

What browser are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:49 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Smile Now let's see if Firefox will work

I'm going to try posting the same photo using Mozilla Firefox.

Smilies don't work.


Nope, the "Manage attachments" button is still missing.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-20-2005, 11:54 PM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
I just disabled popup blocker and the manage attachments button is still missing. Using Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-21-2005, 01:03 AM
fitzo fitzo is offline
Living Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,926
Don, Internet Explorer is the only browser I have. I've been meaning to try Mozilla Firefox, but based on your experience.....
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-21-2005, 08:20 AM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
Mike, I've never had this problem before. I think the new forum software update needs a little tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-21-2005, 08:24 AM
SharpByCoop's Avatar
SharpByCoop SharpByCoop is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 3,785
Unhappy

Don, you are using a Mac, right? I can't imagine this doesn't make a difference. I don't have any answers, though...

Coop


__________________
Jim Cooper - Capturing the Artistry and Significance of Handmade Knives

?? New website improvement for 2010 - Over 5000 images searchable by maker's name! ??
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-21-2005, 08:51 AM
Don Robinson's Avatar
Don Robinson Don Robinson is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brownsville, Texas
Posts: 4,873
No, Coop, I'm using my Dell XP desktop.

I have recently hooked up to DSL and so far I haven't been able to get the Mac laptop coinfigured for DSL. Mac won't help because I didn't buy the router from them, and Linksys can't help because they don't have anyone who knows how to confifigure a Mac.

Here's where I'd post a sad face if Firefox would alllow it. 8>(

So no, it ain't a Mac problem. Seems to be Firefox related. No problem using IE.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.




KNIFENETWORK.COM
Copyright © 2000
? CKK Industries, Inc. ? All Rights Reserved
Powered by ...

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
The Knife Network : All Rights Reserved