MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 04-27-2004, 05:49 PM

Question Shop Safety

I recently read that you should never wear gloves while operating a buffer. Well, I have to admit following a recent acident that has cost me about 4 months of shop time and nearly cost me a finger, I'm reluctant to abide by this shop safety rule. I wasn't wearing gloves and I question would this have happened if I were wearing gloves? I'm still new at making knives, so I know I have a lot to learn, but now there is even more of a healthy fear. What is the harm of wearing gloves while buffing? Are their any suggestions for holding the blade firmly while buffing, now that I'm limited on strength in my dominate hand? Do you know of any particular gloves that would allow some protection and offer a nonslipping surface in the palm?

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Mike

Old 04-27-2004, 06:19 PM
Skilled

Could your accident been prevented by wearing gloves?,could you have actually lost that finger and several others while wearing gloves,very possible.if you want to be brave and foolish you could test the option .every safety warning published tells you not to have loose exposed clothing,hair ,jewelry,etc . when using any spinning and rotating equipment.
Old 04-27-2004, 08:48 PM
Master

sometimes i wear those extremely tight fitting mechanix gloves. i started wearing these to protect my skin from getting buffed off when i had to buff really small parts (earrings). they might offer a little protection against cuts but probably not much do to the thinness. id be concerned wearing anything loose or real thick.