MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 04-26-2003, 09:36 AM
Steel Addict

Round stock for integrals

Hey guys,
Well, classes are about to end for the summer and I've got some ideas for forging a few integrals while I'm off. I've never done this before, some I'm wondering where I can find round stock. The knives I thinking about doing are small to medium size, so I'm thinking something about 1/2" diameter. I haven't used anything but 5160 since I really got into forging, so I'm not sure what type of steel I want. I'd like something that heat-treats similiar to 5160 - I really don't think I've gotten all the nuances of 5160 yet, so I don't want to try anything too different. Anyway, if anybody has a source, let me know. Thanks guys!

Josh

Last edited by Josh Blount; 04-26-2003 at 09:41 AM.
Old 04-26-2003, 10:17 AM
Enthusiast

Josh, most Industrial supply stores that sell machinist`s tools sell drill rod, which in most cases is 0-1, from very small to very large, or you can order from Grainger, MSC,ect. Hope this helps.
Old 04-26-2003, 12:02 PM
Super Moderator

In recycled material try out some automobile coil springs or torsion bars. From what I've read they are 5160 and are in the 1/2" to 3/4" diameter range. (I believe www.anvilfire.com has a chart that shows the steel used in the various types of scrap.)

Durango, CO
chuck@wrtcleather.com
www.wrtcleather.com

Wild Rose Trading Co - Handcrafted Knife Sheaths

The beautiful sheaths created for storing the knife elevate the knife one step higher. It celebrates the knife it houses.
Old 04-27-2003, 09:37 AM
Guru