MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fine Embellishment

Fine Embellishment Everything from hand engraving and scrimshaw to filework and carving. The fine art end of the knifemaker's craft.

Old 12-16-2004, 09:04 AM

Transfering Image to handle for schrim and carving????

I'm not an artist (Can not do freehand)so I need a way to transfer an image to handle or bolster/blade for schrim and or carving. Yes I tried the search.

Paul

Old 12-16-2004, 01:51 PM
Master

Paul,

As a former scrimmer I would recomend that you learn to draw. Even if you have to take some classes, learn to draw.

I have three reasons for offering you this encouragement to draw.

1. If you are scrimming other peoples images onto a knife handle you run the risk of a copywrite lawsuite. No I am not blowing this out of proportion. I have had to deal with this twice in my career. The first time I was guilty of it the second time I was not.

In the first instance I had scrimmed a portrait of a famous actress at the request of my customer. The pic was a scene from a movie where she played a female gunfighter. The pic showed up in a magazine and I got a call from the ex husband of this actress. This ex husband ran the company that owned the copywrite to the movie and the images in it. I am quite certain the only thing that saved me from a lawsuite was the fact that I was a minor when I did that work (I was 16 at the time). Once the guy found out I was a minor he dropped the conversation and I never hear from him again.