MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-14-2016, 08:54 PM
Registered

Unhappy good Belt grinders

Hi guys, im fairly new to the knifemaking scene, and I have a question about belt sanders...Right now im using a 4x36 harbor freight grinder, and its not cutting it. Any suggestions on what brand, or model i should get? I want to keep it under 300 if possible. thanks
Old 06-14-2016, 08:55 PM
Registered

Im american so i mean under $300
Old 06-15-2016, 12:06 AM
Guru

Red face There is an attachment you can Put on your sander.

It bolts onto a 4x36 sander. It is a 2x48 with contact wheels to grind on, but is only offered slack belt as there isn't a platen to grind against. It looks like a platen could be made to fit onto it though. It's call a Jiffy belt sander conversion and is $169.
http://usaknifemaker.com/knife-makin...6-sanders.html There's a link.

That is one option. For about $170 you can buy a Sears 2x42 belt sander with 6" disc and it will take 1x42 " belts. You can get 2x42 belts on Amazon or Jantz Knife supply up to 600 grit AO. No fancy ceramics or zirconia, but you can find those in 1x42.

Or you can spend about another $150 and order an American made 2x48 Kalamazoo from Jantz supply and the $450 includes the shipping. If you want to get into the 2x72 belt range then you'll have to look for one for sale on craigslist or build it yourself and there are many weldless 2x72 grinder plans. USA Knifemakers offers concise plans and instruction for one. Here is another link for them and they cost 25.77 and are fifty pages long.http://usaknifemaker.com/knife-makin...-50-pages.html