MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-26-2010, 11:18 PM

new guy here

I am new to making knives, am going to attempt my first one this week I hope, I only have a HF 1/30 grinder, some files, sandpaper, vise, lots of wood working tools, lol,,I figue on using the files and paper mostly,,I am in no hurry to finish but am anxious to get started, I am going to use a 12 inch file to make the knife from, I will be trying to anneal it with charcoal and a blow dryer,,lol,,wish me luck,,just wanted to sat hi and thanks for all the advise I have gotten here already

Old 09-27-2010, 04:26 AM
Skilled

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your fisrt knife.
Have fun!

Bob
Old 09-27-2010, 08:17 AM

Welcom Rick
Take a little time to fill out your profile in more detail. You might find out things are "happening" close in your neck of the woods. Lots of large and small hammer-ins are scheduled (as well as last minute gatherings) all over the US this time of the year - same in the spring. You can hookup with some really good talent at these events and pull some of the steepness out of the old "learning curve". Plus make some very fine new friends at the same time. Even if you're not heat n beat oriented, you can learn an awful lot of basic skills at these events that apply to any style of knifemaking.

If you are in the SE USA - Trackrock Hammer-in is this coming weekend - Blairsville, GA (check Georgia Guild Fourm below) and Bowie's Hammer-in is later in Oct up near Knoxville, TN (check Outpost Forum below). There are plenty of others so look about and see what's happening. Cooler weather tends to bring us outside and make us more sociable.