MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Damascus Forum

The Damascus Forum The art and study of Damascus steel making.

Old 03-05-2010, 11:50 AM
Steel Addict

Can I work a Damascus Billet?

Ok this is for a future project. I bought a 5160 and 15n20 1 1/4" x 12" x 5/32" Damascus Billet. It's a little shorter and a little wider than I need it to be.
Can I draw it out some still. Or do I risk separating the layers by doing so. Will this steel configuration produce a decent Hamon line. The Finished blade I'm looking at about 1" wide 16"-18" long
There will be some taper in the blade shape so I think I can accomplish it

These are newb questions cuz I'm a newb

Thank you

Chris
Old 03-05-2010, 02:16 PM
Master

5160 is not your friend in damascus. Get some 1070, 1084, or 1095 (or even W-1) to pair with your 15n20. The 5160 has a bad tendency to shear if used with other chrome or nickel-bearing steels, and is hard to weld to itself.

It CAN work, but it's not very forgiving. 5160 is an excellent steel for monosteel blades, don't get me wrong! It just doesn't play well with others, even if kept at a high welding heat the whole time.

It also doesn't show an active hamon. You can get a good straight line, but it's a deep-hardening steel what with the chrome, and that doesn't lend itself to producing any sort of effects beyond a plain line. It is also an oil-hardening steel, as is 15n20. It'll even harden in air if in very thin sections like, say, a knife blade.