MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fine Embellishment

Fine Embellishment Everything from hand engraving and scrimshaw to filework and carving. The fine art end of the knifemaker's craft.

Old 01-31-2006, 01:48 PM

Engraving

Im new to the whole knife thing but i have already decided that i want to engrave my own knives. I cant afford the Air engravers so thats out of the question... What is one of the simplest ways to start to learn how to engrave, and which method is the best to start off with...
Old 01-31-2006, 03:20 PM
Steel Addict

Get Meek's "The Art of Engraving" book, Lynton Mckenzie's three tape set on Begining,Intermediate and Advanced Engraving, stay to to this forum and ask lots of questions. Helpful forum friends doesn't hurt either. Fred

Old 01-31-2006, 03:49 PM
Guru

I would take a beginners engraving class first.
Do some reading on engraving styles, tools and techniques.
Study the instructional videos available from the Firearms Engravers Guild.
Basic [hammer & chisel] tooling costs far less than air driven equipment.

The important thing here is that you invest in yourself first, then equipment.
It will take a commitment of time and energy on your part, but with a good foundation
you should be on a shorter path to success than many before you.

Tim

Old 01-31-2006, 03:53 PM
Steel Addict

Starting engraving.

The previous information is good advise. You might add another book " The Basic's of Engraving" by Niel Hartliep.
Simple and good tools can be purchaced from Ngraver Company in Bozrah, CT. 860-823-1533 www.ngraver.com together with some good, free advise. Talk to Ray Phillips the owner. He has a small book for $5.00 I believe, that you will find usefull.
Having taught over 600 poeple to engrave, my advise is to start with a hammer and chisel.