MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-05-2012, 03:57 PM
Skilled

Attempting Stock Removal

Well... so far I've built three knives from blanks and also a DDR-3 folder (which I really enjoyed!). The more I do this... the more I want to learn. I'd like to try stock removal and create something that I can call "my own". I'm still studying the process and promise to have a few questions if I can't find the answers in the 'search' feature.
Nothing fancy.... I'm kinda old fashioned so I went with a Nessmuck style of my own design.
I'm close to finishing my sketching and template.

Old 08-05-2012, 05:07 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Looks good. If you carry the grind further up the blade the knife will slice better. Now, just cut out the profile and then mark a center line on the edge and file the sides down to the line. Drill some holes, send it to HT, clean it up, attach the handle. What could be simpler?

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 08-05-2012, 06:36 PM
Skilled

Thank you Ray! I will take you advice regarding a longer grind and also the center line. As far as "what could be simpler?"... well a lot of things, lol. This will test my filing skills, attention to detail, and patience I'm sure. I still have a lot to learn and a lot to practice. Probably a few more tools wouldn't hurt either. I may need a better file before I tear into this one.

Old 08-05-2012, 07:36 PM
Steel Addict

If you are doing it all with hand files, it wouldn't be a bad idea to look into getting a file guide or making one yourself if you can.

Very cool design, good luck!

Old 08-05-2012, 08:59 PM
Skilled