MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Damascus Forum

The Damascus Forum The art and study of Damascus steel making.

Old 09-14-2004, 04:51 PM
Registered

Etching nickel silver/copper damascus

Hi, I'm a newbie here at the Knife Network Forums. I have a copper/nickel silver raindrop pattern damascus which I would like to achieve fairly polished surface finish and use patina to colour pieces. I would like to have copper being finished as dark as possible, contrast to nickel silver being light for a finish.

So far I have found an soda ash & Sulfer method here at the forums, but I am leaning toward using solution method involving chemicals that I am not familiar with. Chemicals that I am looking for are, copper carbonate, copper nitrate, copper sulfate, and ammonia.

My resources do not indicate on concentration of some of chemicals I have listed, or how hard or easy to obtain these chemicals are. If you have any idea on places I can find these chemicals (or product names) and/ or knows which concentration to use please share your knowledge/experience. I have really short deadline for the project which is undergoing in school and I would like to find out as much as possible to eliminate chances of limited amount of damascus I have from being wasted.
Old 09-14-2004, 05:26 PM
Skilled

do you have nonferrous mokume or steel damacus? they are 2 different animals.for a patina on copper,boil an egg and use the yolk. also,you don't really want a polished surface with mokume.
Old 09-14-2004, 07:13 PM
Registered