MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-31-2019, 09:03 AM

Howdy

Just wanted to say hello & introduce myself. I'm still new to this stuff, but took a 2 year rest when we moved from Tucson to northern New Mexico. We found a small town called Raton (means mouse or rat in Spanish), which is just 6 miles south of the Colorado line off of I-25. Much cooler here, winter & 9F this morning, so the shop will be a bit chilly today. Real estate is cheap here, so we were lucky to have found a nice older home with a 4 car garage, I have 2 bays to work in for a shop now (my wife & very understanding). I have one bay for wood & a 2nd for steel. I was a cabinet maker years ago, mostly worked in wood around construction in Tucson. Retired as a roof truss estimator after the last 20 years of work.

We retired in 2016 & I highly recommend it to everyone!

I'm just working with stock reduction now, some 5160 this time & will have to send out for heat treat. They're three blades, theme & variation, a simple Kiwaken type this time. I had to make changes as I went...

http://www.knifenetwork.com/forum/al...pictureid=4604

Here's a finished D2 blade, it's a stretched & expanded version of a Mule I did.

http://www.knifenetwork.com/forum/pi...pictureid=4607

The grinder, made from hitch receiver steel (2 1/2" & 2") & some store bought parts, works well enough

http://www.knifenetwork.com/forum/pi...pictureid=4608

Here's another shop project from this year. I just started welding again, after 40 years.
Old 01-01-2020, 08:27 AM
Founding Member / Moderator