MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 05-28-2017, 03:28 PM
Enthusiast

Question Introduction

Hi all,
My name is Ed. I am 36 years old living in Indianapolis, In. I am happily married,I have a 5 year old daughter and 2 year old son.

I am just getting into stock removal for knives. I bought 72x2x3/16of 1095 for a song. I have made a whopping 2 knife basic blanks. I have not put any grind or heat treat yet. As I am scared of the mapp gas torch and no clue how I am going to grind the belly. I have an angle grinder with grinding disks but I am thinking a file with a jig may be a better choice to make a more consistent grind.

Is generic vegetable oil ok for quenching 1095? Should i put the 1095 aside and go get some 1084?

All suggestions are welcome.
Old 05-28-2017, 04:23 PM
Hall of Famer

For one MAPP gas torches are not the best things to try to heat treat with. If you insist on using a torch an acetylene torch with a rose bud tip would be better. The best solution would be pricey but an electric high temperature oven can't be beat. Next in line would be a gas forge.

Vegetable oil is really not a good option for 1095. It's just not fast enough to assure that you will get past the tip of the cooling curve without crossing over into the pearlite range. A steel like 1084 is a much better match for vegetable oil.

Another thing that you could do is get some stainless steel, 440C is pretty reasonably priced, and send you blades out for heat treating.

Doug

Old 05-28-2017, 04:25 PM
Guru

Sawduster welcome.