MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-31-2012, 11:47 AM

Hey all new here need some advice

Hey guys How's everyone doing today?

I'm new to the knife making world and I see all these videos on folks making knives out of almost anything. So I go hunting downstairs in my basement shop. I found these old hedge trimmers (not sure if that's the right name) I thought "wouldn't these make an interesting knife or knives!!" I just wanted to post up pictures of them for you guys to check out to see if it was worth while. Also how I would start the project..heat treat first? file all the nasty off? I'm real excited to start this project. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks in advance guys for any comments or advice

I plan on making a fixed blade knife. I know there's the bends in the metal, would I have to bend or hammer that back first?

Old 07-31-2012, 03:52 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

It is possible that those would make a decent blade. It is just as likely, maybe even more so, that using them would be a waste of time and money. Why? Because maybe they are high carbon, maybe not. Maybe they will harden enough and maybe they won't. Just the simple fact that you need to ask this question means you are not yet ready to attempt making a knife out of salvaged steel. In other words, you need to learn to make a knife first, then if you want to use salvaged steel you need to learn how to identify and test the steel and then work out a heat treatment for the unknown steel. Try to do all that in one shot as a first project and your chances for success are very low. Worse, you might get frustrated with the entire problem and drop knife making altogether.