MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-26-2005, 12:37 PM
Enthusiast

Clay heat treat problem

Tried to use clay (satanite) for first time on 0-1 to get a wavy pattern. Heated, than edge quenched. When I started to etch no wavy pattern just normal edge quench line visible.
What did I do wrong? Was clay not thick enough or was it something else? :confused:

Hope some one can shed light.
-Randy
Old 03-26-2005, 01:34 PM
Steel Addict

I would venture to say that the problem is the edge quench.... When clay treating the clay acts as an insulator, retaining the heat. You should full quench the blade and let the clay take care of the "edge quench". I've never done it before so take what I say with a grain of salt but I think that will be the problem. Hope it helps.

~Matthew

Old 03-26-2005, 02:25 PM
Steel Addict

Randy!
With some steels hamon will follow a clay coating closely, with some not. Here may be a reason.
Usually a deep hardening steels does not make a good hamon.

Old 03-27-2005, 03:24 PM
Guru

I think it's a little of what both guys said... you don't want to edge quench a clay coated piece, the clay is what keeps the steel from hardening so you don't have to edge quench. All of the O-1 clay treated pieces I've seen had a really subtle hamon. I don't know how much polishing it takes to bring it out, but it always seems to be really faint to me.

See my knives @ knives.caphayes.com

This quote pains me:
-- "Strategically placed blood grooves control blood spray in covert deanimation activities." --
Old 03-27-2005, 11:58 PM
Enthusiast