MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-04-2008, 10:17 PM
Steel Addict

Newb grinder questions

Hi guys,

I am a newb to this hobby. First off I would like to thank everyone that participates on this forum, the forum is a wonderful tool to a new guy like myself.

A few months ago I started making a lock-back folder with nothing more than some 0-1, a file and a CHEAP Harbor Freight 1X30? sander. Quickly I got frustrated (mostly with the sander) and set the project aside and started re-reading a lot of the threads on this forum. The one thing that seemed to be consistent was there are a lot of happy knife makers with a KMG (or clone) grinder. So a long story short I have started making a KMG clone from some plans on the net and it is nearly complete.

So here are my first newb questions:

Not knowing any better I purchased a 2HP Leeson motor that runs 3450RPM, it now appears to me that this motor will be to fast for a three step pulley system.
At this time I cannot afford a 3phase with a VFD so should I cut my losses and purchase a motor that can run at approximately 1740 or will the faster motor work for the application?

If you could only afford 10 belts for a KMG, what grit belts would you purchase and are there any particular brand belts that are a good value?

My intent at this time is only to build folders, what would be the best diameter wheel for hollow grinds? 8??

One last question, keep in-mind that I am new so this may sound stupid, but it appears that a large majority of the people building folders on this forum are building liner-locks. Why are there so few people building lock-backs? Is one easier than the other?

Thank you for your time
10es&